Classifi ed Recruitment

Courses Property



How did you get that job?

Name James Scott Job Title Executive chef

Company The Dogs, (A)more Dogs and Seadogs restaurants When did you start your job? I started in March 2008, when The Dogs opened.

So what does your job actually involve? I create the menus for all three restaurants - the food at The Dogs’ is modern British, at (A)more Dogs it’s Italian and Seadogs offers sh and seafood dishes. I split my time between all three restaurants, cooking in each for a few days each week. No matter which one I’m based in, I visit the other two every day - however briefl y - to make sure everything is running smoothly. Training staff is high on the agenda as well - I manage 15 chefs and 6 kitchen porters, and I’m responsible for ensuring everyone is working to our high standards.

Best / Worst Aspects? The best aspect for me is always going to be the cooking, but I really enjoy training young chefs too. There are no worst aspects of my job - working in a constantly busy kitchen is demanding, but I thrive on it - I like the challenge!

Looking back, what advice would you give to a young James at the start of his career? I would tell myself to keep working hard - the long hours are going to be well worth it. and nally

. . . Tell us more about what is currently going on with the Scottish Storytelling Centre? Seadogs just opened and looks set to be as popular as The Dogs and (A)more dogs. There are now plans for another restaurant, and also a hotel.

Seadogs is at 43 Rose St, Edinburgh Tel: 0131 225 8028 Website: 94 THE LIST 4–18 Mar 2010

Writing Tuition/Help Flatshares cont.

Creative Writing/ Dissertation Editing

If you need help with either, I might just be the man to

help. Experienced journalist +

reasonable rates... a useful combination 07971 235 708


Art Class Glasgow

Class, taking

Still Life Art place every Tuesday evening for 4 weeks, starts 23 Feb from 7pm-9pm. Hosted by various artists. £20 for 4 weeks. Venue: Big Mouth Cafe, 167 Dumbarton Road, Glasgow G11 6AA. Please contact 0141 337 7023 to book a place.


Property to Let Glasgow

1 bedroom Garnethill at, from April. Ground oor,1 bedroom, living room, large dining kitchen, quiet area, low bills, Gas C/H, shower, white goods, garden, 2mins subway/Sauchiehall St, £450 + deposit T: 07773 293 463

at to

Glasgow, 2 bed let, City Centre. Bright, spacious, fully furnished 2 bedroom at available now. Opposite Bridge Street Underground. Excellent transport links. £480pcm + CT + Bills Contact Mr Lorenzo 0141 638 6601



One bedroom top fully furnished at with balcony to let, Gorgie. One year let available beginning of April. £400 (includes CT) plus bills and one month deposit. Call: 07849 067 944

Double room with en- suite. Inc gas, elec, council tax, broadband. Share of the kitchen and dining room with owner. Garden and street parking in nice area of Dennistoun. Tel: 07971 475 672

Professional female sought to share gorgeous, traditional spacious at in Shawlands. Large double room. Share with cat and professional female. £300 + CT/bills. Deposit req. Available 1st April. Tel: 07734 686 988

end Luxury modern west at, p/parking, 10 minute walk to Byres road, 20 minute walk to city centre, sharing with one other, available from 3rd April for short lease. Tel: 07771 918 252

New Gorbals. Gay Friendly. Non smoking. Large modern kitchen/breakfast lounge. Large double bedroom. Small garden. Private parking. town 20 mins walk, £290 & C.T Tel: 07773 767 973 or 0141 429 8828

Dog friendly person wanted for warm, sunny room in West End garden at, near underground. £325 including bills and wireless broadband. N/S Professional only. Entry April. Tel: 0778 909 8141

West End, room to let in comfortable traditional at. Suit mature single full time working professional. All mod cons. No cleaning. No bills. No extras. £310pcm. Tel: 0141 576 5159 or 07831 818 644


Southside - V.large bedroom available in ground oor at, sharing with two others. Flat has modern kitchen/bathroom etc etc £300 includes c/t. Tel: 07960 838 366

to share

Flat mate wanted with one other in a two bed Tene- ment in West End near Byres Road & Botanics. All mod cons. WiFi. £295/month + bills & C.T. Tel: 07817 582 185 Queens Park. G42 8QD. Furnished double room with HD TV, Free Sat, LCD PC, Wifi and private phone. Suit professional male 30yrs+. £335pcm all inclusive of bills. Tel: 07981 013 939

City atshare by

Flatshares Edinburgh

Huge bedroom, 25ft Glasgow Furnished double room to rent in house, Robroyston (15 mins to city). Included in £400 pm rent: gas/elec, heating, council tax, phone rental, use of white goods, linen. Tel: 07845 046 799



Flat mate wanted share with one other in West End Tenement close to Byres Road. Double room. All mod cons with wireless internet. Rent £295/ month + bills (CT). Tel: 07817 582 185


Double room for in Comely Bank/Stockbridge. Sharing with 2 others, easygoing, working & in our 30’s & seek similar. Very Reasonable rent + deposit + shared bills. Tel: 07734 774 717

Warriston: Bright lovely south face double room shared at (1 other) parkland setting, close shops/ transport, walking distance Leith Harbour, Leith walk, City. Wifi . good parking. Suit NS-prof. £285+CT+bills. Tel: 07753 968 593

Great opportunity for right person. Lovely, furnished, quiet, easy going near Canonmills. Run of place 4-price room. Owner infrequent user. Southface, parkland setting, centre, local amenities, parking nearby. NS. £275+CT+bills. Tel: 0131 557 4789

Massive master bedroom in New Town. Fully furnished to high standard. Sharing with one other male professional, 30s. Seeks professional single or couple. £500 plus bills. Available May 1, 2010. Tel: 07742 878 227

at Room in Murrayfi eld to share with one person. £270 pcm including council tax. Shed for bicycle, good bus routes, free car parking. Available from end of March. Tel: 0131 538 2037

Morningside - Maxwell St - N/s professional FEMALE to share clean, attractive, modernised, spacious at with female. Zone parking. £310pcm. Available now. Tel: 07816 364 010


Double room with in warm modern relaxed N/S at just off Leith Walk. Friendly atmate wanted sharing with sociable professional male. GCH, wifi , cable. Available April. £300pcm +CT/bills. Tel: 07989 967 682

Considerate, non-drinking/smoking atmate needed for double room in an attractive 2 bedroom at at Prestonfi eld Avenue from Sept-May 2010. To share with a female Ecology student. All inclusive £90 rent/week. Tel: 07796 980 135


I Saw You

I Saw You in the West... I Saw You ... Capitalism: A love story. Yeah, and a bloody missed opportunity. I should have spoken to you and you should have offered me some of your fruit. GFT. March 5th. 5.45pm U/652/03


in the Ally,

I Saw You in the Bon, in the Judges, in Stumps, in my bed and forever in my heart. I love you. U/652/01